Connect with us:

    Follow NSGC on FacebookFollow NSGC on LinkedInFollow NSGC on Twitter

    Angelina Jolie Effect: One Year Later

    By: Joy Larsen Haidle on May 14, 2014

    One year ago today,  Angelina Jolie bravely shared her deeply personal connection to breast cancer, including losing her mother, discovering she is a carrier of the BRCA1 mutation, and – most poignantly – her decision to undergo a bilateral mastectomy to reduce her risk of developing breast cancer. Her op-ed in The New York Times made women around the country, and the world, take pause to think about their own family history and contemplate if they, too, may be at risk. It prompted conversations about what could be done to deal with cancer risk and help decrease fear.

    TIME cover.jpgStar Power Brings Acceptance

    Jolie’s celebrity status normalized difficult and stigmatized medical decisions that may be considered by women who are at increased risk of developing breast cancer either due to family history or because of a genetic mutation. The decision to pursue a risk-reduction bilateral mastectomy is often wrought with concerns over body image, sexuality, fear of rejection from a spouse or significant other, and fear of judgment from others.

    Then, a woman known for her body and sexuality made the decision to pursue this surgery to reduce her cancer risks and share it publically. This led to a pop culture shift toward acceptance of decisions and medical options for women. Previously women felt pressure not to do the surgery as others felt it was too aggressive or mutilated the body. Now, women report peer pressure to do the same surgery to “stay safe.” Some feel more comfortable discussing the surgical option with friends and family, while for others extra surveillance, such as more frequent mammograms and breast MRI, are the preferred option.

    BRCA Testing is Not for Everyone

    An unintended consequence of Jolie’s op-ed was the notion that the breast cancer gene test was meant for everyone to determine her or his (yes, men too) chance of developing breast cancer. Realistically, there are several factors that should be considered prior to taking the BRCA1/2 gene test, including: 

    • Being diagnosed at a young age (less than 45 years old)
    • Being diagnosed at less than 50 years old, with a family history of one or more relatives with breast cancer at any age
    • Being diagnosed at less than 50 years old with an unknown or limited family history
    • Having three or more people with breast and/or ovarian cancer on the same side of the family, including men
    • Having a diagnosis of ovarian cancer or fallopian tube cancer

    At $4000 per test, this is not a cost-effective option for the general public, as the result provides quite limited information.

    How to Assess Your Risk

    As a genetic counselor specializing in cancer genetics, I work with patients to help them understand their individual chance of developing breast cancer based on personal and family characteristics to determine the chance of a useful test result. If testing is appropriate, I counsel patients on how to use the results to protect their health.

    As a genetic counselor specializing in cancer genetics, I work with patients to help them understand their individual chance of developing breast cancer based on personal and family characteristics to determine the chance of a useful test result.

    Jolie’s op-ed empowered women to ask important questions about breast cancer risk. While genetic tests are available, they are not necessarily useful for everyone. A genetic counselor can be a valuable resource to explain complicated information, cancer risks, and ensure the appropriate genetic test is performed. You can learn more about your personal risk for breast and ovarian cancer today by using the free NSGC-approved Assess Your Risk Tool developed by Bright Pink.

    Joy Larsen Haidle, MS, CGC, is president-elect of the National Society of Genetic Counselors and a genetic counselor at the Humphrey Cancer Center in Minneapolis. 

    Released: May 14, 2014, 8:51 am | Updated: May 20, 2014, 7:39 am
    Keywords: Announcements | Blogs |

    Assessing Result
    By: | Posted: September 23, 2014, 5:19 pm

    When result indicates negative BRCA1&2, but reveal 5 uncertain VUS and your counselor is overwhelmed with the numbers, what do one do? Especially, if they are new genes, one gene with 2 changes and the lab doesn't know if they are contributers or good or bad. For someone newly diagnosed with B/C this can be a bit much. How do you weigh this?

    Kailey
    By: | Posted: November 21, 2014, 12:48 am

    Burberry Factory, http://www.burberry-factory.net/
    The North Face Outlet, http://www.thenorthface.so/
    Coach Outlet, http://www.official-coachoutlet.com/
    Barbour Outlet, http://www.barbour-factory.com/
    Abercrombie & Fitch Online Sale, http://www.abercrombiee.com/
    Burberry Outlet, http://www.burberryoutlet2014.com/
    Chanel Outlet Online, http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/
    Calvin Klein Clothes, http://www.clothes-mall.com/
    Gucci Bags Outlet, http://www.guccibags.us.com/
    Marc Jacobs Handbags, http://www.marcjacobsonsale.com/
    MCM Outlet, http://www.mcmworldwide.ca/
    Gucci Shoes Outlet, http://www.guccishoes-uk.com/
    Kate Spade Outlet, http://www.kate-spades.com/
    Louis Vuitton Outlet, http://www.louisvuittonas.com/
    Louis Vuitton Shoes Outlet, http://www.lv-guccishoesfactory.com/
    Michael Kors Outlet, http://www.michaelkors.so/
    Michael Kors Outlet Online, http://www.michaelkorsonlineusa.com/
    Michael Kors Outlet, http://www.michael-korsusa.net/
    Moncler Clearance, http://www.moncler-clearance.com/
    Tommy Hilfiger Outlet, http://www.tommyhilfiger.in.net/
    North Face Jackets Clearance, http://www.north-faceoutlets.net/
    North Clearace Outlet, http://www.northsclearance.com/
    Oakley Sunglaases Factory, http://www.oakleyssunglassoutlet.com/
    Michael Kors Outlet, http://www.official-mkoutlet.com/
    Prada Shoes Outlet, http://www.official-pradaoutlet.com/
    Polo Outlet Store, http://www.polo-outlets.com/
    Polo Outlet Store, http://www.ralph-laurens.com/
    Ralph Lauren T Shirts, http://www.ralphlaurentshirts.com/
    Longchamp Outlet, http://www.longchampsoutlet.com/
    Coach Factory Outlet Online, http://coach.mischristmas.com/
    Barbour Jackets Outlet Online, http://www.barbour-jacketsoutlet.com/
    Beats By Dre Outlet, http://www.beatsbydreoutlet.net/
    Ralph Lauren UK, http://www.ralphslauren.co.uk/
    Ugg Boots Outlet, http://www.warmbootssale.com/
    Woolrich Clearance, http://www.woolrich-clearance.com/
    Nike Jordan Shoes, http://www.nike-jordanshoes.com/
    Cheap Monster Beats, http://www.monsterbeatsbydres.net/
    Canada Goose Outlet, http://www.canada-gooser.com/
    Coach Factory Outlet Online, http://www.bestcustomsonline.com/
    Coach Black Friday, http://www.coach-blackfriday2014.com/
    Coach Outlet, http://www.coachccoachoutlet.com/
    Coach Store Online, http://www.coach-clearance.com/
    Coach Factory, http://www.coach-factories.net/
    Coach Factory Outlet, http://www.coach-factorysoutlet.com/
    Coach Outlet Online, http://www.coachlosangeles.com/
    Coach Outlet, http://www.coachoutletstates.com/
    Coach Purses Outlet Online, http://www.coach-pursesoutlets.com/
    Hermes Outlet Online, http://www.hermes-outletonline.com/
    Black Friday Deals, http://www.misblackfriday.com/
    Coach Factory, http://www.mischristmas.com/
    Moncler Jackets Outlet Online, http://www.moncler-jacketsoutletonline.com/
    Coach Factory Outlet Online, http://www.newoutletonlinemall.com/
    Polo Outlet Online, http://www.ralphlaurenepolo.com/
    Coach Outlet Online USA, http://www.zxcoachoutlet.com/
    bloomingdales coupon code, http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/
    Louis Vuitton Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/louis-vuitton-bags-c-1.html
    Hermes Bags Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/hermes-bags-c-2.html
    Prada Outlet Online,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/prada-bags-c-3.html
    Chanel Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/chanel-bags-c-4.html
    gucci backpack,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/gucci-bags-c-5.html
    Burberry Outlet Online,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/burberry-bags-c-6.html
    Celine Outlet Online,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/celine-bags-c-7.html
    Balenciaga Outlet Online,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/balenciaga-bags-c-8.html
    Christian Dior Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/christian-dior-bags-c-9.html
    Chloe Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/chloe-bags-c-10.html
    Bvlgari Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/bvlgari-bags-c-11.html
    Bally Outlet Online,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/bally-bags-c-12.html
    Coach Factory Coupon,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/coach-bags-c-13.html
    Michael Kors Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/michael-kors-bags-c-14.html
    MCM Backpack Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/mcm-bags-c-15.html
    Fendi Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/fendi-bags-c-16.html
    Mulberry Outlet Online,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/mulberry-bags-c-17.html
    Marc by Marc Jacobs,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/marc-jacobs-bags-c-18.html
    Miu Miu Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/miu-miu-bags-c-19.html
    Ysl Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/ysl-bags-c-20.html
    Tory Burch Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/tory-burch-bags-c-21.html
    Givenchy Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/givenchy-bags-c-22.html
    Ferragamo Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/ferragamo-bags-c-23.html
    Lancel Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/lancel-bags-c-24.html
    Loewe Bags Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/loewe-bags-c-25.html
    Tods Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/tods-bags-c-26.html
    Paul Smith Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/paul-smith-bags-c-27.html
    Dolce Gabbana handbags,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/dg-bags-c-28.html
    Alexander Wang Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/alexander-wang-bags-c-29.html
    Bottega Veneta Outlet,http://www.shophandbagsonline.com/bottega-veneta-bags-c-30.html
    Michael Kors Outlet, http://michaelkorsoutlet.mischristmas.com/
    MCM Backpack Outlet, http://mcmbackpack.mischristmas.com/
    Monster Beats Outlet, http://monsterbeats.mischristmas.com/
    North Face Outlet, http://northfaceoutlet.mischristmas.com/
    MK Black Friday, http://mk.misblackfriday.com/
    Coach Outlet Black Friday, http://coachoutlet.misblackfriday.com/
    Coach Factory Black Friday, http://coachfactory.misblackfriday.com/
    Ugg Australia Black Friday, http://uggaustralia.misblackfriday.com/
    Coach Purses Black Friday, http://coachpurses.misblackfriday.com/
    Coach Outlet USA, http://coachusa.misblackfriday.com/
    Coach Black Friday, http://coach.misblackfriday.com/
    Michael Kors Outlet Online, http://michaelkorss.misblackfriday.com/
    Michael Kors Black Friday, http://michaelkors.misblackfriday.com/
    Air Max Black Friday, http://airmax.misblackfriday.com/
    Michael Kors Factory, http://michael-kors.misblackfriday.com/


    NSGC Executive Office | 330 N. Wabash Avenue, Suite 2000 | Chicago, IL 60611 | (312) 321-6834 | nsgc@nsgc.org